Network problem on the server

I use Asus notebook as the server installed with Ubuntu and ThinkPad with windows as workstation. SecureCRT is used to connect the server with the workstation. Since I want to have the static IP on the server, I have to modify the network config files on nano /etc/network/interfaces. Like the ones below.
Initially, it works. Server can maintain the static IP while days later, while network on server does not work very well. It is offline occasionally. Weird things happen, I ping the server on workstation, remote host reachable. And I can connect the server with secureCRT on workstation and visit server through ftp. while occasionally errors happen. While I ping the workstation from the server, result is that remote host unreachable. I restart the network with commands like

sudo /etc/network/init.d restart
sudo service network-manager restart
sudo ifconfig eth0 down && ifonfig eth0 up

problems remains. And the server seems become unstable and it develope to the situation that network interrupts thorougly. Then I have to comments all the configuration on the config file. Everything works properly. And the IP remains static booting everytime. I search on internet while I can not find the answer.

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
#auto eth0
#iface eth0 inet static
# address 192.168.1.12
# netmask 255.255.0.0
# gateway 192.168.1.1
# broadcast 192.168.255.255
# dns-nameservers 223.5.5.5
#42.120.21.30

#wireless network
# auto wlan0
# iface wlan0 inet static
# netmask 255.255.255.0
# gateway 192.168.1.1
# address 192.168.1.108
# pre-up link set wlan0 up

Leave a comment